Simplicity 2443 Cynthia Rowley Vest – to the Max!

Polo, J Jill
Jeans, Motto
Sandals, Born

I just love this vest and jacket! Such a perfect peplum and length. 
I actually bought a 6 1/2″ yds piece  white corded cotton from FFC so that I could sew this…but have not done it yet! I decided to mull over the pattern (picture me mulling over pattern) and then do a muslin first. ‘Cause the corded cotton was expensive!
I am so stingy. I had a little over a yard of Kona cotton in black. I love Kona cotton. It is 4.3 oz. per yard and has a wondrous hand and slight sheen. Perfect for lightly structured garments, bags, purses, kid’s things – and this vest. And I liked having it in my stash soooo much that I very reluctantly sacrificed it to this project!

A back view first then what I did!
Pants, Vogue 8584 Loose Fitting Pants
Fabric, Calico, Holly Lobby
I think Cynthia got the peplum just right – sassy.
Skirt, Kwik Sew 3914 Pleated Skirt
Sandals, Chinese Laundry
 I redrafted her lovely vest to be a vest/blouse combo, by making a few very easy alterations. I just do not like necklines above my collarbones! I like scoop or v-neck bodices – I think they are so much more flattering and so pretty to style. 
Here is the front pattern with my drafting marks to (1) create a buttoned vest/blouse, rather than one that meets and ties at the front center,  and (2) restyle the front neck to a v-neckline suitable to a buttoned blouse or vest.  (I am gritting my teeth, but not inclined to fight this…I cannot get this photo to rotate!)
  • I used the existing cutting line as my new seam line. This left fabric to the outside of center front.
  • Then I added a 5/8″ seam line to the new front edge.
  • I used another pattern (BurdaStyle 2011/09#128) to determine the start point and angle of my new neckline.
My newly redrafted front piece on top of the original pattern:
More pics! I just love it! And will be sewing it with the beautiful sleeves that comes with the pattern and as a sleeveless blouse in many cherished fabrics.
Model, Emile

The gathers in the center back are from my having made a 1 1/4″ broad back adjustment in the upper back and simply gathering the fabric into the peplum. Worked very well.

 Happy! Coco

6 thoughts on “Simplicity 2443 Cynthia Rowley Vest – to the Max!

  1. Hi Mary! It's because it's black (and I will never make a black dress, I'm nearly cross-eyed just from this…). picture in turquoise or tropical flowers 🙂 I did get purple buttons on it! So funny, the polo is the only collared shirt I own! so it stood in for the photo shoot. A pretty white silk long-sleeve would have been nice. Days gone by…

    Like

  2. Thank you, early bird! So much corded cotton, and it is 54″ wide! I have another peplum jacket pattern coming as well, long sleeves. And might do a vest for my attorney daughter (brag book…she, my son, and his wife are all lawyers. Oh my. But I sew!) left you a note, love your orange blouse.

    Like

  3. I've been wanting to make this and I always feel inspired by you- I see a root around the textil closet in my very near future wiuth this pattern in one hand!

    Like

Comments are closed.