Butterick 5736 Tunic to Maxi Dress Refashion

 
Who would have thought! I really like this pattern, which I first sewed as a tunic using the view in red. Good looking and easy to wear. It occurred to me that it would be a great starting point for a maxi dress.
 
There are so many patterns like this for knit fabrics – but just try to find one for wovens. Particularly something as basic as cotton, which is not very drapey. Not so easy!
  

The lines of view A are simple. A no-dart bodice and a softly gathered bottom.

 
The refashion was done in two steps, bodice and skirt. Changes to the bodice:
  • I redrafted the front neckline, dropping it about 3 inches into a scoop neck (shown in my previous blog).
  • I lengthened the bodice by 2 inches, adding the additional length at the bottom of the two bodice pieces.
  • The contrasting waistline is a two-piece casing, which was cut at 3″ x 40″ and sewn to the bodice with a 1/2″ seam allowance. The 40″ length was more than was needed, I just made the adjustment when I applied the casing.
  • The result is a casing that is almost at my natural waistline.
  • I did the binding on the neckline and armholes in contrast fabric at this point – it is so much easier to handle without the skirt attached!
 
Fabric, Cotton Minibolt, AC Moore
Contrast, Cotton Hibiscus Tropical Shirting, JoAnns
 
Changes to the skirt:
  • I traced new skirt pieces, which for me are 42″ long and included 1 1/4″ for the hem. Part of the additional length was added midway down the skirt and part was added at the bottom, to keep the skirt fairly slim.
  • Pockets! were added 5 1/2″ below the raw top edge of the skirt in the side seams.
  • Once the skirt was constructed, I sewed it to the the bodice casing, again with a 1/2″ seam.
  • And inserted 3/4″ elastic in the waistline casing. Nifty tool for pulling the elastic!
 
 
I love the result! Photo gallery:
 
 
 

I really enjoyed drafting and sewing this dress and am wearing it like crazy 🙂 I have done two more using this refashioned pattern and will get some pics up soon.
 
Ciao! Coco

6 thoughts on “Butterick 5736 Tunic to Maxi Dress Refashion

  1. Hi! I have no problem with walking at all! Plenty of room, because of the slightly gathered skirt. Love wearing this dress! I have two others from the same pattern 🙂

    Like

  2. I like the blue material, but one question, is it comfortable for your steps, because i have few dresses like this, some of them i sewed myself, but i had to walk with little step my dress didn't allow me to walk fast or make big steps. So how is your?

    Like

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

