Kwik Sew 3703 Maxi Dress

After 5 days of chilly weather, we are having  a beautiful warm day. Perfect for debuting my cotton jersey hibiscus maxi dress.

I’ve always liked this pattern from Kwik Sew. It has no darts, and has a great fit and flare look. And it’s a favorite on Pattern Review – I trust my fellow sewists’ opinions! 
But I’ve hesitated because it has a racerback, and that’s just not for me.

Had to solve this – I really wanted the look for spring and summer. What to do…

I decided to use the bodice top from McCalls 5893 to replace the raceback element of the Kwik Sew pattern. Perfect!
I flattened the front darts on the McCall’s pattern, did a bit of line curing, and it fit beautifully over the Kwik Sew pattern! 
Love the new front, straps, and back – the dress is so comfortable. It also matches the flowers in the garden…
Bulbine frutescens
Euphorbia milii

I hope you are having a nice weekend as well. Ciao! Coco

23 thoughts on “Kwik Sew 3703 Maxi Dress

  1. I love that dress! I know I have the McCall's pattern, and I like how you used that pattern to change the shape of the back. Great Idea – i might have to try it!

    Like

Comments are closed.