Burda 04/2012 #113 Snap Front Jacket

What a great little jacket! I love the curved lines, gathered and cuffed sleeves, and boxy look. And it’s a perfect length for throwing over shorts or jeans or pants.

Burda describes this as a snap-front jacket, because it has four sewn-on snaps inside the front facing. And the original pattern front actually closes well past the center point. However – I redrafted the front pieces to overlap an inch at the center front, and did not use the snaps at all. It’s just not a jacket I would wear closed.

Burda also suggests lining the jacket, which might be nice for a light color (it looks like I should have lined my shorts, but my camera settings are just not right. I’m used to shooting outside). No lining needed here. I just finished my edges to prevent the ravels, as my fabric is a linen/rayon blend.  

I generally sew a size 40 in Burda, but went with a 38 in this jacket. It is plenty roomy, but I  can’t really go down to a 36 – I need the width in my shoulders and back.

Part of the fun was in the topstitching detail. I used a thread that was just a little lighter than the fabric, and went to it!

The key to neat topstitching: no backstitching!

Bring threads to the wrong side, tie them off, and bury them!

I like it a lot and want more colors!
Bye for now – Coco

14 thoughts on “Burda 04/2012 #113 Snap Front Jacket

  1. Oh, I hope you do a post on your jacket! I just found your blog, left a few comments, loved reading your posts, lovely garden, and found an inspiration piece, your red flannel top!

    Like

  2. so, I downloaded this pattern the very next day and today I finished mine in blacklinen with zebra print facings… thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  3. Love it! And such a great color. I just cut into some lightweight denim for pants in almost the same shade! I'll have to take a look at that pattern.

    Like

Comments are closed.