True Bias Hudson Pants…


My first fall pants…I came close to some of the Pantone Fall 2014 palette!

I never thought I would sew a chevron print – chevrons just haven’t appealed to me. And I made it through a full year of chevron-mania without buying any. But this ITY knit from fabric.com is so outrageous, I fell for it. Drippy chevrons on a reptile print background.

These are the Hudson Pants from Kelli at True Bias Patterns – her first pattern. And it’s wonderful! I’ve seen the pants described as track pants and as workout pants. They look kind of like sweatpants. Hanes, Champion, Nike, Land’s End…

Source: aliexpress.com. BTW…aren’t the buttons on the faux fly and cuffs of these a cute idea?

But I like to think of them as glam sweatpants 🙂

Back to the pattern: Slash pockets, a drawstring waist with elastic, and cuffed legs. However, the legs on the Hudson pants are a bit different – full in the abdomen and hip, and then fitted through the leg.

I really like the fit on these pants – I cannot believe I’m wearing knit pants without a tunic top. Thank you, Kelli!
A few sewing notes:
  • I made the size 16, because my hip is exactly the width of the size 14, and I wanted a little ease.
  • The fitted leg is a bit scary to me. I’ve spent most of my life trying to camouflage the fact that my love handles are at the top of my thighs – so I’m not likely to sew something that highlights the fact! My fix was to redraft the inside seams. I marked a point 1″ out from the bottom edge and cured down from the top edge. This added the softness you can see in my pants legs. 
  • I also narrowed the cuff and lengthened it a bit to accommodate the additional width at the bottom of the leg.
  • Being practical, I knew I wouldn’t use a drawstring (they bump out in shirts and drive me nuts), so I ditched it, narrowed the waistband by half, and used 1″ elastic in the casing. The resulting back rise fit me perfectly, and I only needed to add 1/2″ to the front rise.
I think a 4-way stretch like this ITY is perfect for these pants! no baggy anything. The ITY feels heavenly. 
A couple more pics with McCalls 6928 tunic top…

A definite win. I happen to have some more outrageous ITY knits in my stash, so now I have a pattern to go with 🙂

Ciao! Coco

20 thoughts on “True Bias Hudson Pants…

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

