Simplicity 1804 Knit Dress – a little different

I’m still using up fabric I bought to muslin my Mother of the Bride dress – like 6 yards of this cotton/poly jersey from Girl Charlee. The print is not quite my favorite, but the fabric is a perfect weight for this maxi from Simplicity.

The pattern has been around for several years, and I’ve given it a pass a couple times. But I liked the idea of the cut-on sleeves on View B and the little twisted front drape on View A. Worth a go…

In the end, I left off the drape and reshaped the sleeves πŸ™‚ And my favorite part is the shape and fit through the bodice. Β 

Just a few sewing notes:

  • Sewed a size 14, which has a bust of about 37″.
  • Raised the front neckline 2 1/2″. The original neckline was low…which is OK for an evening dress, but not exactly comfortable for out and about. I’ve seen this worn with a cami to fill in the neckline. But why wear more clothes!
  • Lengthened the bodice, front and back by 2 7/8″. Otherwise the gathers would have been right at my bust apex. I’ve noticed that a lot of sewists have made this adjustment to the pattern.
  • Added 4″ to the skirt length, based on the waistline mark. But ended up removing 4″ and still taking up a 1 1/2″ hem! And I’m 5’7″. Crazy.Β 
  • Left off the waistline seam elastic – the fit is close without it, I’m not sure why it’s suggested.
  • Changed the sleeve by lopping off the pointy parts. I made them to the pattern first, but…no. I really did not like the points! Without them, the sleeve looks like a long butterfly sleeve.

I’m not over the moon on this one, but I think it’s my fabric (that print)…the dress is really comfortable and has good lines. The bodice is so pretty – I’ll try it again.

Bye for now! Coco

25 thoughts on “Simplicity 1804 Knit Dress – a little different

  1. it is a nice dress, love the shape of it, if you don't wnat to wear it as a dress, you can wear it to lounge around the house on sew days !

    Helen

    Like

  2. Well the dress looks great and comfortable and wearable. Not everything needs to be a favorite and we all need something pretty to wear while the favs are in the wash! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hi Coco, Good for you for using up all that stash πŸ™‚ Your changes to the neckline are really nice, and the overall loose drape will be so comfy. As Nancy said, the print is not your usual tropical but it is a great dress nonetheless.

    Like

  4. The changes you made gave you a dress that looks great on you! Even though you don't love the print, I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it since it fits so well.

    Like

Comments are closed.