Simplicity 3786 Pintucked Tunic – like sherbert between courses…

There’s nothing like a known quantity, to recover from a frustrating sewing project! 

After squandering my lovely white lawn on the Style Arc Daisy Tunic, I was practically hugging my black lawn to my chest, protecting it from sewing hazards created by Coco. My provisional plan had been to sew a Daisy in black lawn as well, rounding out a little gap in my closet. But no, no, no.

And flipping through my patterns, I found this one. Head smack. I made it in white embroidered cotton eyelet 3 years ago, and it’s on its last legs. So soft, practically falling apart from wear. I love it. Wish (there goes a penny) I had used my white lawn to make another.

For this version, I chose view D, with a modified sleeve and neckline. 

Bunches of pintucks, 5 on each side of center front, and only 1/8″ wide. I seldom use tracing paper, but it saved my sanity on this one. I traced the pintuck fold lines and pressed them before I stitched them. Having a presser foot with a 1/8″ mark really helps!

Some of the sewing pics are lightened to show the details

I used a white chalk to place the back casing … thus ensuring that I had white chalk all over this blouse by the time I was done. But, hey, white shows up really well on black!

As with my first version, I opted out of the mandarin collar. Instead, I applied a long (40″ x 1 3/4″) bias binding around the neckline, leaving 14″ hanging on each side.

And I decided to do a mid-length gathered sleeve. This was really easy – I just lengthened the upper sleeve from the pattern (about 18″ from the center of the sleeve cap) and gathered it into a narrow cuff. The cuff is 10″ in diameter – it doesn’t catch on my arm or bug me.

Parting shot:
I’ve had a list of small house projects hanging around my kitchen counter for months. Progress this week – a trip to Home Depot. Just because I bought all this stuff doesn’t mean I’m actually getting anything done – it’s all marinating on my kitchen table.

……………………………..
And all of this is such a blessing. I’m so grateful.
Remembering September 11, 2001 – Coco

31 thoughts on “Simplicity 3786 Pintucked Tunic – like sherbert between courses…

  1. Oh, what nice fabric! I often wish I could wear silk, used to love silk shells under suits. They traveled so well – I hand-washed them! because dry cleaners in the countries to which I traveled were very iffy 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks so much. Yes, those bishop-y sleeves are hard to wear. The one I made with embroidered eyelet worked because the fabric is so soft, the shape is easier. I also did one with the upper sleeve, as you did, and didn't like it at all!

    Like

  3. Have made up views E&F so many times I bored MYSELF!!!This is a great great pattern for bigger women-I'm a 22-as it is very flattering as well as comfortable.Sympathies re the white lawn-I treasure pure cottons too.

    Like

  4. I made that view in a white lawn years ago only I made it exactly as shown. I really liked the top except the sleeve…hated it. Ended up cutting off the balloon part and just didnt like it with a short sleeve. Never got worn again. Often thought about remakeing with a different sleeve.

    I LOVE your version. The sleeve looks perfect and I especially like the bias tie at the neck.

    Just remembered that I made view A also. Wore it to death.

    Like

  5. Just lovely. I have the same pattern too. And made the same blouse in a raspberry dotted swiss. Of course, I made mine too big so it has a few extra pin tucks…Good luck on the home improvements!

    Like

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

