Valentines dress and a peek…

img_0071

There’s just something irresistible about Valentines Day…

Every year I’m inspired to make something pink or red, definitely a bit flirty. In January I found this Fiesta Fabrics Petunia Garden rayon/spandex jersey knit at Fabric Mart and fell in love. It’s sold out on Fabric Mart, but Craftsy has it in stock in two colorways. It’s a nice weight for a dress at 8.8 oz and 60% x 60% stretch.

I used ‘my’ version of V1297, a cute dress by Sandra Betzina. The difference between hers and mine is that I did away with the piecing in the front and back. Such a quick sew!

img_0070

Of course I wore it on Valentines Day – and got compliments!

Here’s a peek at my current project, Vogue 9224, a long tunic with handkerchief hems.

In these two pics, I’m wearing it inside out, the hems are unfinished, and the exposure is lightened so I can see the details better. I find it really helpful to stop and take a couple pics to get an idea of where a new pattern is going…

first-tryon-1

I’m liking it!!

first-tryon-2

I’m pumped to finish it today and get some nice photos so I can share.

Bye for now! Coco

3 thoughts on “Valentines dress and a peek…”

  1. What fun! I have that Petunia fabric in the purple/green colorway! I made Vogue 8950, the yoke tunic. It’s such a comfy fabric, and it’s nice that it stretches both ways. You always look so effortlessly breezy and comfortable in your projects, and your Valentine’s Dress is no exception! ~ecb (You knew me as Stirwatersblue on The Site That Will Not be Named.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So tempted to get the other colorway – such a nice fabric. Isn’t V8950 great? a keeper.

      And…You’re so cute 🙂 I ‘discovered’ your moniker some time ago and love your historical fantasy site. You’re so talented, and it’s such a joy to see your costuming and read about your many diversions.

      Like

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

