Kwik Sew 3802 … Achoo!

f1

My fascination with  interesting hemlines continues!

This is pattern is not new, in fact I’m amazed I found it. Good old Kwik Sew.

KS3802 Pic-horz

What a great pattern to try, especially in light of the drama of my recent make of Vogue 9224. The biggest difference is in the length of the garment – this one is shorter by a few inches.

b1
This is a very lightweight rayon/lycra jersey from Fabric Mart

And it had some drama of its own, totally my fault! I initially made it in size Large (OK, I’m not yet accustomed to my diminished girls, I keep making the mistake of thinking I’m sewing for a C cup instead of an A cup).

The large…

size large
Poor fuzzy reject 🙂

So I took this first version apart, laid it out, and marked it against the Medium. Much better.

f3

I really like this look over leggings. And for the record, I’m wearing this with a new pair of Love Notions Sabrina Slims. Can’t get enough Slims. The fabric is Fiesta Fabrics Petunia Garden in the purple colorway (I’ve seen it on both Craftsy and Fabric Mart, rayon/lycra, about 5.9 oz).

And my second muslin, done in cotton/lycra knit. It doesn’t have as much drape, but it’s interesting to try a pattern in different fabrics. This one got worn to the market this morning…

c2

Some sewing notes:

  • Yes, I sewed the Medium. I still think it would benefit from a little shaping in the center back, which the Vogue pattern has, and is to be included in my next version.
  • Sewing the handkerchief detail. For some reason, both the Vogue and this pattern would have you sew the side seam first, and then do the hems on the split detail. Gosh, what a great way to put a lump in that hem split!

f2

Alternative –  I check my alignment from armscye to split, and hem the edges of the split first. Then I sew the side seam, the entire underarm and side, and finish things off.

In this pic:  (1) the side seam after hemming the handkerchief hem, and then the side seam, (2) neatening the serger thread from the side seam, and (3) a nice finished split:

IMG_0008-horz

  • My other big change was to add a center front seam to make it easier to bind the V-neck. I just don’t like to wrestle with bands on V-necks if I can avoid it!

e3

On Emile:

e1

e2

And a side-by-side:

It’s Sunday, lovely Sunday. My grandson celebrated his 8th birthday on Friday – a skating party with his friends at the hockey rink – and his Dad posted this message on Facebook. This is joy…

p at 8

For now – Coco

8 thoughts on “Kwik Sew 3802 … Achoo!

  1. So is there a clear winner among your tunics? Or a combination of several? They all look good to me.On the V neck: you added a CF seam, sewed it up and how did you finish it? I can’t tell. The side finish is very clear , neat and simple.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Fran. I like them all, and my choice really depends on my fabric and mood. The CF seam – I’ll include some notes on this in my next similar post. I avoid neck bands on V-necks like the plague! and would love to share. Won’t be long… I’m contemplating doing some sewing notes on another blog I have but don’t populate at the moment. I have a true aversion to online sewing tutorials by inexpert sewists, and I’ve hesitated to join their ranks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

