Serendipity Studio Diane Dress – Dragons!

f4

It’s good to have dragons on your side…

I saw this Riley Blake fabric on sale at Fabric Mart and scooped it up. It’s from the 2014 Year of the Ninja collection by Scott Jarrard, and the price was soooo low. Serendipitous!

I’m a big fan of Kay Whitt (Serendipity Studio) – she loves quilting cottons, and her designs really showcase them. I sewed 4 versions of this pattern in 2012 (here), and for some reason, I haven’t revisited it since. It’s so cute and wearable, and the style is timeless. It has the look of a wrap dress without all the aggravation – the skirt is not split, so there’s nothing to chase.

Diane Envelope Pic

I sewed the size Small, and the fit is wonderful. Just a few changes and tweaks:

  • Kay uses a 5’4″ model, so I added 1.5″ to the length of the bodice (1/2″ just below the armscye and 1″ at the bottom edge). And I added another 15″ to the skirt for a maxi.

f3

  • The pattern offers a slim-ish skirt or one that’s a bit fuller. I used the latter – it’s a comfortable A-line, just barely gathered at the waist.

b2

  • Of course I added side-seam pockets. To prevent their waving around on the inside, I topstitched them in place on the front.

f2

e1

I love the faced neckline and bound sleeves. Such nice touches. And the drafting on the sleeve is beautiful.

e2

I’m so glad I remembered this pattern. It’s perfect for spring and summer cottons. And it’s now available in print or PDF. For years, Kay did not offer her patterns as downloads. I have the printed version, but if I were to buy it now for the first time, I’d go for the PDF. I like them! Actually, once they’re taped together, they’re great for flat measuring, drawing, and re-drafting. I write all over them…

f1

Oops. Why doesn’t the camera pause when the phone rings?

c1

Ciao! Coco

 

12 thoughts on “Serendipity Studio Diane Dress – Dragons!

  1. Well! You had me at “drafts for a 5’4″ model!” LOL Off to check this designer out! Have you made this in a softer fabric than quilting cotton? It looks like it would be lovely in a challis… or would it just be limp?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wonderful! I really like Kay’s patterns and use of fabrics. Challis – I actually bought some for this dress, and then decided it would be too drapey. I’m thinking cottons, lightweight linen blends…

      Like

  2. Love you dress! That is some lovely fabric! There is just something wonderful about quilting cotton in the heat of summer. I am a huge fan of Serendipity too. I have their book and it is full of lovely and unique skirts!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Linda! I must have half a dozen wrap dress patterns, and I’ve never liked any of them because of the fuss with the skirt when it’s worn. So much for Diane Von Furstenburg!

      Like

Comments are closed.