Sewn with love – crafts apron

e1

Terrible photo, but just think of the classic Williams Sonoma apron. I drafted a pattern from mine ages ago, and it’s my favorite for gifted aprons (I can’t seem to wear out my own original, probably because microwave cooking doesn’t require one).

williams sonoma classic apron

But Ashley uses one, and so does her DH. I made them matching Halloween aprons a couple years ago, and recently she mentioned that she’s  been using hers when she’s crafting with her ‘peeps’. Which is every few weeks – they are hard core scrapbooking/mixed media artists and great friends.

Anyway, Ashley’s birthday is coming up, and I thought I’d get that kitchen apron back in the kitchen, and make her one just for her crafting. I wanted it to be ‘paint proof’ – which simply means she can wipe her hands on it, and it can take it! No, the paints probably won’t wash out, but they also won’t shout out.

The WSonoma aprons are done in something like canvas or duck, but I make mine in quilting cottons, double-sided. For this one, I used yardage remaining from her Halloween version. And I used a cute birdie print for the pockets –  it’s meant to echo the ‘peeps’ moniker she and her friends use. I added a D-ring on the edge of the pocket for attaching flair, ID’s, etc.

 

d2

Ashley’s left-handed, so I switched sides for the neck tie and hardware:

tie at neck

I also made sure the pockets can stand up to use – hands, phone, tools, and so on. The stitching plan to secure them:

pkt markings

She’s at a convention this weekend, helping with a friend’s booth, and playing – it’s in a beautiful Marriott resort in Kissimmee, close to that place where Minnie and Mickey hang out. And the event is for women’s spa and beauty products. Great SWAG!

Happy Birthday, sweet girl – rock on!

3 thoughts on “Sewn with love – crafts apron

  1. How sweet of you to make one just for her craft outings. You know she will greatly appreciate it since she wears the other one already.

    Like

Comments are closed.