Relearning my colors…

jessica kerbawy Crayon art 56
Crayon Art by Jessica Kerbawy

Just when you think you know a couple things about yourself – skin tone, color palette – you go and let your gray white hair grow out in all its glory. Let the color games begin!

profilesI’ve been asked if my hair color change has affected my color choices. Honestly, at first I didn’t even think about it. I was more worried about finding the right hair products to keep out yellow tones. But lately I’ve had more sewing wadders than ever in my life, and I know why: I wasn’t really paying attention to that hair…

My hair color change has major impact – I went from a warm color palette to a cool one.

colorwheelarticle

Except that I didn’t really make that change for quite a while! Recent mistakes include not one, but two dresses with dominant yellow-limes. Both make my skin very yellow!

green things

In addition to color issues, I  was flooding my face with nearby busy prints. I love prints, the brighter and more colorful, the better. Umm. Restraint needed – they are very jarring against my face/hair now.

scary prints

Yesterday I spent time in my closet, focusing on dresses and tops (my pants are ‘reasonably’ neutral – I do love prints on pants ), and I pulled out these guys:

oops

Which leaves me with a nice selection from the cool side of the color wheel:

One thing I’ve noticed is that white and black are great for me now. I’ve always loved white near my face, but black is new territory. I’m really enjoying it. And I’m not alone -they’re predominant color choices for gray-haired ladies, whatever age, on the many sites I’ve browsed in my color journey.

A couple of the jewel tones – emerald, royal blue – are also new for me, but I find them really working now. This little Cali Faye Gardenia dress, sewn for wearing around the house, has been a surprise. I love how it looks on me!

Cali Faye Gardenia Maxi (2)

And this tunic has become a favorite as well.

sharkie 2

Did you notice that my closet is not exactly bulging now? Great reason to do some thoughtful stash replenishment (I needed an excuse, right?). Winging their way to me soon, some blues and white for outfits. And a few new patterns, to keep things rolling.

new fabric

What an interesting exploration, definitely fun and revealing. I’ve also watched a lot of videos on makeup for my ‘new’ palette, equally enlightening. But that’s another post. For now, back to those crayons. Here’s my take on the good/better/best – that box of 64 was a Christmas list item for years.

16-horz

I would love to hear your experiences with shifting palettes and color discoveries!

From the really messy sewing loft – Coco

8 thoughts on “Relearning my colors…

  1. You are such an inspiration. I agree that I was a warm and now am cool. I still warm colors but I have to have them on the bottom and then I wear a solid (black or white) top. Works for me but I love all the “new colors” I can wear. My favorites are black & white, purple and greys. Keep posting, love the blog!

    Like

  2. I’ve still got white and dark brown going on….sort of like an old dog with a grey muzzle…. but I quite like it. Your hair is beautiful though Coco. Wish mine was a s thick. Re the colours, I’ve been fighting this for a while but it is undoubtedly true, I’m having to accept the same as you, that mixed warm colours are not for me. Though I still like orangey hues. I think a less complicated and clearer palette is the way to go. You have crystallised this for me. A thoughtful piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such an interesting post,Coco,and the photos illustrate your points so well. As I’m sure you have realised, I am obsessed with getting colours right and I certainly don’t always succeed ( though I can usually tell as I don’t feel comfortable or ” good” when they don’t work).I actually feel that colours affect and reflect one’s mood- (I never wear black as it depresses me).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I, too, turned all gray, but at a young age (around 50). Yes, black, white, jewel tones r very good. So r some pastels And blush taupes as well. And, to think, years ago I wished desperately to be an autumn. Have fun playing in your new color palette. Your sewing is just fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I started going grey in my late 20s, so I’ve had decades to adjust. I used to like pastels next to my face. Dusty pinks, lavenders, aquas. Now I’m jewel tones all the way. Wish I could wear white, but it makes me look like death warmed over. Black works OK, and I’ve recently realized that deep brown is a softer alternative. Totally love your silver locks!

    Like

  6. Your change in colours is very flattering! I have silver gray hair and also love black and white. Jewel tones are great on me now so,I also had to do some clean out of my stash and add the cool colours, fun choosing and adding them to my to my wardrobe…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I so enjoyed this post. I have been going grey for years now.. My hair is variegated colors, has always been most of my life. People pay lots of $$$ to get theirs highlighted, mine is natural. Now though I have more white mixed with gray with dark and light blonde strands. As my hair has gotten lighter I have changed makeup and colors. I am still a warm fading to cool.

    I love your white hair. My grandmother and mother had white hair; they both wore rose colors a lot and look great on them. I take after my father’s side with the blonde hair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And your hair always look beautiful, nice cut and very becoming. You always look so well-groomed. I imagine it’s harder to go gray from blonde, not easier – I’ve read that the natural blonde tints linger longer. Having had black hair before I started getting white streaks in my thirties, the color just disappeared rather completely. The hard part was getting rid of lingering hair dye!

      Like

Thank you for stopping by! comments are welcome and appreciated - Coco

