Love Notions Laundry Day Tee – sleeveless

f1

Work day in the loft…making a mess, no makeup or hair-do, just a nice morning spent finishing a few projects, watching the Wimbledon tennis matches, and having absolutely nothing planned or pressing.

new line art

 

This is my second make of this dress (first one here), and I fully intended for it to have sleeves. But – I was well into cutting out the bodice when I remembered that I needed to adjust the length of the shoulder seams. Oops.

But it’s a nice segue into a discussion of why I needed to do that at all. (BTW, IMHO, based on reviews and examples I’ve seen, a lot of sewists have struggled with the armscye area and sleeve on this pattern. Perhaps this will be helpful ).

Below, on the left – the Laundry Day Tee, aka LDT, has two cutting lines for the armscye. One for the versions with sleeves, and a second ‘tank’ cutting line for the sleeveless versions. On the right – my LDT size Medium laid on M5974 size 12 (this is the Palmer/Pletsch Perfect Knit Dress, my version here).

There is about 1″ difference in shoulder length. On Emile, whose shoulders match mine since I trimmed them a few months ago, it’s easy to see just how short the shoulder seam really is:

Since I couldn’t add the sleeves, I trimmed a bit of curve into the front armscye (the back was fine) and used self-fabric binding to finish. A view of the inside (and I still can hardly believe this armscye was meant to carry a sleeve):

inside armscye
Fabric: Fresh Produce Hideaway Flowers cotton jersey, from Girl Charlee

f3

s1

I’m not slamming this pattern at all, in fact I really like most of it, and I’ve certainly made more fit adjustments to other things I’ve sewn! I guess it irks me a little because it’s so avoidable – there’s a reason why Burda and all the Big 4 have almost identical shoulder lengths on their slopers. And those slopers fit me just fine, maybe with a change to the pitch of the seam for my square shoulders, but certainly long enough.

f2

Bye for now! Coco

6 thoughts on “Love Notions Laundry Day Tee – sleeveless

Comments are closed.