Cali Faye Gardenia Dress – Pineapples!

f1

Well, fiddly-dee… No more spam problems (thank you, WordPress). Let’s do some sewing!

I love love this pineapple print from Girl Charlee. So much that I was willing to try a cotton/poly blend (poly is a bad word around here, unless it’s ITY or thread). And I must say, it was easy to launder and to sew. I’m very happy with it. Perhaps I’ve been too hard on poly 🙂

How cute is this print!

front waist

And what is summer without things like flamingos,

mosquitoes,

and pineapple?

I’ve sewn this pattern so many times, but I had to re-print it and draft a smaller size for this version. Happiness…I’ve lost almost 40 pounds since October!! Side benefit: sewing things that fit me now.

f2

Image.png

Back to the pattern, which I really like. I’ve made it so many times, both short and maxi versions. Cute dress, lots of sleeve options, kind of the perfect knit dress for summer. I can’t find a pic of the line art, but here’s a link to the pattern (here.) 

I want those shoes!

The front – slightly raised, and the back is raised as well. I really appreciate a little seam play – this pattern would have been blah without it.

back waist

Sewing notes – well, none. I sewed the size Small, and just added 3″ to the length. I’m 5’7″, and the additional length was mostly to get the dress to a length commensurate with my age (ha!).

f3

I’m so happy with this dress. Hello, summer, I’m with you…

f0

OK, those other things, like flamingos – I’m looking for the fabric!

Ciao – Coco

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Cali Faye Gardenia Dress – Pineapples!

  1. Hello, I’ve just started following your blog. I love your style! The pineapple dress is unexpected, and looks so happy! Thank you for sharing your sewing on your lovely blog.

    Like

  2. You have such a talent for selecting wonderful pattern/fabric combinations. I just wish I liked PDF’s more as this Cali Faye Gardenia dress is so cute..maybe I’ll give it a try. Weight loss? Wow! Glad you are feeling better.

    Like

  3. Cute, cute dress! And it looks cool and airy. It is just amazing how much losing weight makes things possible that you don’t realize when you are older until you actually do it. (Hope that made sense!) Daily activities are easier, joint pain goes down, etc. Preaching to the choir, I know. I am so glad for you that you have had a good result with your weight loss. Keep sewing, Coco! You are on a roll!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a nice dress. I really like the shape. Poly has been a bad word in my house also but I do believe today’s poly has changed. Some of it anyway. I have recently purchased blends with cotton like yours and really like them as well. They launder well and seem to hold up nicely.
    Congrats again on your health journey. Its not an easy one for most, no matter how much we know it is good for us. You have my highest regards.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for stopping by!

