Charlie Caftan in African Wax Batik Print

f1

My favorite Charlie Caftan!

With only one color overlay, this batik from Fabric Wholesale Direct is the perfect weight for a dress. And the deep purple is so calm, it was a pleasure to sew.

awp3

f4

Sewing notes: I’ve continued to use the pattern changes and construction approach that I used with my muslin of the Charlie Caftan. My original post has lots of info on these (here).

  • The front panel is raised about 5/8″, simply because I don’t enjoy seams that sit right on my waist.
  • I applied the front panel to the bodice, rather than insert it per the pattern instructions.
  • And I reduced width of the gathers under the panel by about 2″.

close front

  • I definitely prefer the dress, short or long, with the ties.
  • My ties are about 40″ long, 1 1/2″ wide, double-folded, and top-stitched along the edge.

b closeup

  • I didn’t draft my pattern with the sleeve hem allowance. All of my sleeves are finished with self-fabric bias binding.
  • And I topstitched the in-seam pockets to the front of the skirt. No waving pockets!

f2

I’m really hooked on this pattern. It’s so easy to wear, no hooks, buttons, or zipper, and not at all confining. Plus, it looks different every time I make it, because the prints are so different. So….yes, more planned.

f3

Parting shot:

It’s San Diego Comic Con time, so I’m in Ft. Myers, kitty-sitting for Ashley and Darrin. In addition to their three adult kitties, they’re fostering three 5-week-old little boys for Animal Services (I’m sure they’ll adopt them). They look so big in this pic, but they’re really tiny! And they have to stay in their own room, no fraternizing, for another week or so, until they get their final boosters and have their boy-surgeries. Cute things…

kitties

Bye for now – Coco

 

4 thoughts on “Charlie Caftan in African Wax Batik Print

  1. This fabric is so perfect for the Charlie – – well done! I’ve made the pattern several times now and your version is making me want to make it yet again :).

    Like

Comments are closed.