Tessuti Megan Cardigan – first version

f1

Yes, it’s the middle of summer, and a cardigan evokes fall sewing. But – the stores are so cold, especially the grocery market! I always put on a sweater or shawl to go in that freezer joint. One day in December, I didn’t have one with me, and my Raynauds Syndrome sent me a swift kick.

Photo12101024_1Since then, I’ve been messing around with long cardigan patterns, with the intention of making one in black ponte and keeping it in the car.

After my disappointment with my self-drafted version (here), lots of you suggested the Megan Cardigan. It really is cute, and I like the pointed side seam detail.

Here’s the line art, such as it is, and the cardigan does NOT look like this…but it’s close. Sort of. lineartA few sewing notes:

  • Based on my measurements, I sewed the size Medium. And it was a silly mistake.  I used a rayon/nylon/spandex ponte de roma, which is very stable. It has very little horizontal stretch and no vertical stretch –  I should have gone up a size. My cardigan is a little small, tight in the arms and across the back – sigh. But it will be gifted, and I’ll make another in size Large.
  • Having only 2 yards of fabric, I shortened the pattern by 4″, and, honestly, I think I prefer this length.

f2

b1

  • Many people have mentioned that the very narrow neckband is a bit fiddly to attach.  I used an unfinished width of 2.5″, which finishes at about 7/8″ wide. Thanks, everyone, for the heads up!upper front
  • I didn’t use the pattern instructions for hemming and finishing the bottom edge of the band – I think this looks pretty sloppy:

p1-horz

Instead, I  hemmed the cardi first, and then attached the finished band. IMHO, the result is less bulky and much nicer.

myhem1-horz

  • Other than the topstitching, I sewed the whole thing on the serger, 2 needles. What a fun little project – it has just enough going on to keep it interesting.

s1

Bye for now! Coco

7 thoughts on “Tessuti Megan Cardigan – first version

  1. I love your cardigan! I have this pattern but I haven’t made it up yet so I’ve bookmarked your post for future reference 🙂 It’s just the thing to throw on (and glad you did when you reach the refrigerator section of the grocery store) I’m a huge fan of Tessuti – I’m just making up the Pia dress now in double gauze and I did have to do a lot of adjusting – I made 2 muslins to finally get it right. It was worth it though because now I’m loving it a lot 🙂 I have their Leni top too but haven’t gotten it made up yet. Yay for Tessuti 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I never leave home without a sweater/shawl. This pattern must run quite small if you need a larger…you are tiny. Like that shortened version and your finishing technique is more professional. Good review. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Fran! Well, I think Tessuti drafts small, high armscyes – I had to redraft the upper bodice and armscye of both the Gabby dress and the Frankie dress. And I was wary of this one, so I did a lot of flat-measuring. IF I had used a stretchy fabric, it would have been OK (except that, regardless, I think the arm width is narrow, not much room for a sleeve inside). I’ll probably end up drafting a combo of the M and L.

      Like

  3. The cardie looks excellent, I’ll add it to my to do list, but please tell me what pattern you used for the pants, they are just what I am looking for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Christine! The pants are Love Notions Sabrina Slims – they’re great. I modified them just a little bit, so that below the knee they don’t cling quite as leggings do. Very easy change – you can find my blog post by clicking ‘love notions’ in my category cloud, or by enter Sabrina Slims in the search box. Hope you like them!

      Like

  4. Well, I am sorry that it is too tight! It is very cute, and the length is perfect. I, too, have Reynaud’s, and even in the blistering summer, I always have a sweater with me somewhere for the grocery, the doctor’s office, etc. The AC can be a bit overwhelming! And thanks for the tips on this cardigan. I have looked at the pattern, but haven’t bought it. Now if I get the urge, I know where to look for advice!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for stopping by!

