McCalls 6461 – A sea life cardigan

6

What could be better than marine creatures all over a cardigan! I fell for this cotton knit fabric the moment I saw it on Girl Charlee, way back in May, and I grabbed both prints in this colorway. I was lucky – the Sea Life print is gone, and only a few yards remain of the Hideway Flowers.

Fresh Produce
100% cotton, 8.5 oz, 58″ wide, 20% stretch 

Girl Charlee’s description: From designer clothing line Fresh Produce comes this high quality garment dyed botanical floral print cotton jersey knit…Fabric is pre-shrunk, soft, …medium weight with a small stretch. 

It really is pretty beefy and is very similar to lightweight French terry knit. Cute, right?

7

m6461 line art

So, back to the cardigan, one of my favorite patterns of all time, McCalls 6461. This is the 5th time I’ve sewn a variation of View C, and bad on me, I’ve never written about it.

Sad part – it’s out of print, but I see it on Ebay and Etsy from time to time.

The pattern is simple: cut-on sleeves and a hemmed neckline. I’ve always squared off the front edges, which makes it even easier to sew. For this version, rather than hem the neckline, I decided to attach a 1″ wide neckband.

cardi 1

Notes on the neckband:

  • I trimmed 5/8″ off the neckline all the way around, and reshaped the back neckline to be a little concave.
  • I have very square/level shoulders, so I also adjusted the fit before I added the neckband.
  • I cut a 4″ wide neckband with the grainline along the length of the band, not across it. And folded it in half, wrong sides together, and serged it to the neckline.
  • Suggestion: if you piece a neckband, use a diagonal seam to reduce bulk and ‘hide’ the seam.

neckband seam

  • Other changes for this version: I added 2″ to the length and used 3/4 length sleeves.

More pics!

1

5
Leggings: Love Notions Sabrina Slims in cotton/lycra jersey.

3

Here’s a pic of version I sewed in 2014 and still enjoy wearing. It’s a very light and stretchy tri-blend cotton jersey, so I simply hemmed the neckline.

marigold

And a muslin I did recently, using View B. I’m thinking it would make a great shrug to wear over sleeveless dresses. Ignore the fabric please – it’s French terry and is way too heavy for the bottom curve.

shrug muslin

I’m so pleased with this cardigan and with the success of the neckband 🙂

2

Ciao! Coco

 

9 thoughts on “McCalls 6461 – A sea life cardigan

  1. I love your cardigan and the changes you made to make it your very own! I wish I had half as much creativity as you have!

    Like

Comments are closed.