Noodlehead Pepin Tote muslin

Got to be having some fun, right? I love the Noodlehead Pepin Tote, just released. It’s so well drafted and just begs for customization. The instructions are, as always, amazing. Bonus – seam allowances are included.

My first thought was to make it a bit more narrow and less deep, as shown in my pics. I cut my fabric at 16.5″ wide, rather than 19″ wide, and mine is 3′ deep. But I’m going for the full monte on my future versions.

I love the idea of using waxed canvas, as above, but it’s not practical for the sub-tropics. I don’t relish the idea of my bag melting in my car, on my clothes, eating outside. And it would, I researched it!. So I’m using a mid-weight canvas.

I have enough canvas left for two final versions, one for me and one as a Christmas gift. This morning I ordered this delightful Andover Quail cotton from Marshall Dry Goods for the lining and inside pockets (I’ll oppose the stripe on the pockets).

Bye for now! Coco

4 thoughts on “Noodlehead Pepin Tote muslin

  1. I’m going to make mine with interior pockets on both sides so I can keep more things handy inside the bag. I was thinking about putting outside pockets on each side, but then decided that would just confuse me! Here in the Pacific Northwest the waxed canvas will work great for most of the year! We’ve already had 20″ of rain here in Port Angeles, but the record is 76″+ in Forks, WA.
    Thanks for the recommend and inspiration on this bag!
    Sue

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a sturdy, fashionable bag! A group of us made large shopping bags like this for distribution at the food bank last Christmas. We had a donation of upholstery and drapery materials and had fun creating the color combinations. Your post reminded me how much I enjoyed those women and the time we spent together doing something fun for people who don’t have a lot of unexpected joy in their lives. Thank for sharing your project.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for stopping by!